Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Better to learn the trade here or there?

Better to learn the trade here or there?

Old Sep 17th 2017, 8:06 am
Just Joined

BartSpark is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Better to learn the trade here or there?

Hi there

I'm looking to do 2 things. Become an electrician and move to Australia.
Just trying to find out in what order to do that.

So the first option I'm looking at is this

It looks like I could get a student visa for Australia (with 11 grand gbp is savings ) study for a certificate III in electrotechnology at a college and then apply for graduate visa for another 18 months and in that time try and get as much work experience possible to apply for a skilled visa or possibly get sponsored.

The other option is to start an apprenticeship here in the UK or go to college and work my way up the whole 4 years to be a licensed electrician here in the UK and then try and apply for a skilled visa knowing that I'd then have to transfer my skillset over when and if I got my visa.

Just looking for suggestions from those who know more than me!

Thanks in advance

Bart
Old Sep 17th 2017, 10:42 am

old.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond reputeold.sparkles has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Better to learn the trade here or there?

Originally Posted by BartSpark
Hi there

I'm looking to do 2 things. Become an electrician and move to Australia.
Just trying to find out in what order to do that.

So the first option I'm looking at is this