Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

electrician moving to canada help needed

electrician moving to canada help needed

Old Jan 22nd 2008, 7:32 pm
Forum Regular

leeds_sparky is an unknown quantity at this point
Default electrician moving to canada help needed

Hi guys i'm looking to move move to canada in april as a qualified electrician but keep hitting brick walls in terms of what i need to do trade wise, is there a step by step guide or anybody know what i need.
cheers kirk
p.s i'll be moving to ontario
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 9:12 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: electrician moving to canada help needed

I have no idea about electricians but check out the Wiki for details of immigration. You won't be moving in April I'm afraid - permanent residency application are currently taking around 5 years to process! One way to do it quicker is to get a job offer and then apply for a temporary work permit which then reduces the time to a few months, however, your potential employer needs to prove to Canadian government that they have advertised the position extensively and cannot find a Canadian citizen to do the job. I have no idea if electricians are in short supply so you might want to do a search and see what you can find on that, if they are then you could well get in quicker on a temporary work permit.

Start reading and figuring out. Best of luck.
Old Jan 22nd 2008, 9:15 pm
Forum Regular