Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Electrical/Mining work on WHM visa?

Electrical/Mining work on WHM visa?

Old May 9th 2007, 9:34 pm
n00b

80s kev will become famous soon enough
Default Electrical/Mining work on WHM visa?

gday ,

im a regular reader of the is forum (although i havent posted on here before now). i wonder if anyone answer my queries on mining in oz.

im kev, im 27 and from england. ive got a years working holiday maker visa and plan to travel to oz in the next month or so. i then plan to do 3 months fruit picking/harvest work to qualify to have my visa extended by a further year. further to this, i beleive that mining work is considered valid.

rather than going down the route of bar work etc like most backpackers. i want to work on sites as an electrician or similar.

it is not possible to register for an electrical licence or even a restricted electrical licence with the visa that i have.

the best i can obtain is a basic health and safety blue/green cards, and work as an electrical assistant/labourer.

id be more than happy to undertake any training/college courses at my own time and expense in order to improve my chances of employment in oz.

however, a term of my visa is that i cant attend college for more than 4 months in a year, so short/intenstive course/s would be better for me.

another term of my visa is that i cant work for the same employer for more than 6 months.

do you know if backpackers are ever employed employed as electricians, particularly in the mines?

ideally id like to do electricians, or electricians labouring work, but basically id take any work offered.

i served an apprenticeship in a job more related to electronics than to what i do now, although similar to electrical.