Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Electrical License HELP!!! I'm Stressed Out

Electrical License HELP!!! I'm Stressed Out

Old Aug 16th 2009, 7:46 am
Just Joined

wyldeone is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Electrical License HELP!!! I'm Stressed Out

Hi Guys I'm new to this forum and need some help/info in getting my Electrical License.

Cut a long story short -

I'm a fully qualified Gas Fitter & Electrician (C&G 2360 Parts 2 & 3). Worked mainly in the Industrial/Commercial for 10 - 11 years and spent 1 year doing domestic installs (consumer units etc). Me & my family have lived on the Gold Coast for the last 13 months (thats how long we been in Oz). I came over on my Gas Fitters ticket and have attempted to get my ARTC from TRA for my electrical license, but after 3 x Applications & $1000 i've got know where. Basically they refuse to give me an ARTC on the grounds that i dont meet there 7 years experience (they say i only got 5 years experience).

I'm looking into other ways i can get my license and this is were some help would save me pulling my hair out

As far as i can see i have 2 options.

1. NSW have there own Vocational Training Recognition (same as TRA), but they only require 4 years experience. This means i have to up root my family and more to NSW which i would like to avoid if all possible.

Has anyone gone down this route, if so any input would be greatly appreciated?

2. I've been told a few time to get my license through SA as this the easiest route. I've surfed the internet for all the info i can find and this is what i came up with.

Step 1. Do wiring reg course with Peer Veet by correspondence.
Step 2. Sit exam in Adelaide and get certificate.
Step 3. Goto to Office of Consumer & Business Affairs and apply for license in
person and i should get it in 2 weeks.
Step 4. Transfer license to QLD.

Again has anyone been down this route?