Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Electrical Gap Training PLEASE HELP

Electrical Gap Training PLEASE HELP

Old Aug 1st 2014, 9:52 pm
Just Joined

Sph14 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Electrical Gap Training PLEASE HELP

Hi All, I am a sparky from the UK who just recently moved to Australia to sample the lifestyle and to hopefuly make a better future for my family (Mrs + 2 kids). We applied because as an Electrician of 20 years (which I have had to prove beyond any reasonable doubt) my said trade was on the 'wanted' SOL list. I arrive in Australia OTSR in hand and apply to the ESO in Brisbane to gain a temporary licence to enable me to get a job.......to be told I must have a job first to be granted a temporary Electrical licence.....which proved to be a little challenging asking for a job here as a TA with my UK certificates ??? catch 22 or just utter B@ll@cks ? I have since enrolled at the local TAFE at a (further) cost to myself of $2700 ????? I must complete Gap Training of 16 electives to enable me to take a QLD specific Regs exam to gain my Full electrical licence. I am really struggling to make sense of some of the electives so please if you are a sparky from the UK who has already jumped through these extra hoops these Aussies keep putting in front of us (and charging us for the privilege) can you give me some advise or shed some light on what it is exactly they want from me. I would be eternally grateful and in your debt. We want to make this move a success but its damn hard having the goal posts moved all the time !!! the Electives they have asked me to complete are :-
UEENEE E001B
E002B
E005B
E007B
E008B
E004B
E003B
G001B
G003B
G002B
G007B
G009B
G004B
C020B
G005B
G008B
Again thanks very much to anyonr who can help with this.
Sph......a very disillusioned spark.
Old Aug 2nd 2014, 10:15 am
Just Joined

Default Re: Electrical Gap Training PLEASE HELP