Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Anything I need to do in UK before migratring??

Anything I need to do in UK before migratring??

Old May 31st 2009, 12:44 pm
Forum Regular

emmakc1977 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Anything I need to do in UK before migratring??

My husband and I already have PR and our visa states we must emigrate by 2012 so this post isn't related to gaining entry into Australia.

My husband qualified as an electrician (16th edition) in August 2004 and then passed Inspection and Testing in February 2007. He didn't undertake a formal apprenticeship but did start working as a electrician's mate in January 2003. Prior to that he was a toolmaker (that's how we got our PR).

My question relates to working as an electrician when we get to Oz and getting a licence.

Is there anything that he can do before getting to Oz with regard to getting a licence so that we are ready to go when we get there? Also, does he have to wait until he has been qualified for seven years before he can get a licence (i.e. August 2011)?

Any info, websites etc would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
Old May 31st 2009, 1:45 pm
Forum Regular

madtanz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Anything I need to do in UK before migratring??

Hi there,

Most of the information you need with regard to licensing etc can be found within this forum,

Start here:

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=491978

and here:

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=609970

Apologies if you've already read them but without the ARTC (which you can apply for from the UK, but the outcome can only be sent to an address within Australia) you will have big problems trying to get licenced, there are plenty of helpful people on here who have put in their own time and effort to find and confirm the information.
The best of this information can be found in these threads.
I hope that this helps.

Madtanz