Reload this Page >

First reccy before move to Cyprus

First reccy before move to Cyprus

Old Jun 11th 2012, 12:19 pm
Just Joined

ian.hawksey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default First reccy before move to Cyprus

Hi Guys

Forum newbie here. We are thinking of retiring to Cyrpus, possibly early next year, and are at the very beginning of finding out the what, where, how, why etc, so any advice, suggestions, positive or negative, would be welcomed.

About us: married couple in our early fifties, fairly young outlook and outgoing, happy to mix with the locals but would like a busy ex-pat community also. Would like to be able to walk into 'town' (wherever that may be) for some life, but dont want to be living in the middle of it. I guess year-round activity is a requirement also.
We plan to live off our savings & pensions, and maybe supplement it with casual work (eg in a bar during the summer) for additional 'spends'.
We are looking for a 2 bed apartment with communal pool to rent long term (we can't afford to buy).
So far, my research has suggested Paphos, possibly the Universal area.

I think my next stage is to visit Cyprus for a couple of weeks with a view to driving round to look at different areas, then follow this up with a subsequent visit later in the year to review our initial findings.

So, from my ramblings above, do you have any suggestions as to what you would consider suitable areas for us to investigate? Is my idea of the initial visits the right way to approach things?

Any input gratefully received.

Thanks in advance

Ian
Old Jun 16th 2012, 6:24 am
BE Enthusiast