Reload this Page >

Moving to Peyia/Paphos- yet another one! Looking for advice on schools

Moving to Peyia/Paphos- yet another one! Looking for advice on schools

Old Jun 18th 2012, 10:48 am
Just Joined

TheRedDevils is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Peyia/Paphos- yet another one! Looking for advice on schools

Hello,

Firstly, I know this is yet another "We want to move to Cyprus" thread so sorry about that!

But I thought I'd start a new thread as I can be rather specific about our circumstances before asking about some advice

My in-laws currently own a villa in the village of Peyia and shortly my wife's Aunt will be moving from Holland to Paphos also. So we'll have a "support network" to a certain extent,

Secondly, as a self-employed Graphic Designer, I won't need to look for employment because as long as I have an internet connection I can continue to work as normal as I had been in the UK (I've been doing this for over 5 years and never met a client face-to-face thanks to the internet).

My wife (after an initial "settling-in" period that we've budgeted for) would eventually be looking for work over there also. Is it imperiative to speak Greek? is it easy enough to look for part-time work?

However, our big sticking point (and any general advice about anything else you might think we should bear in mind would be appreciated) is the education of our kids.

We've got two kids aged 8 and 11, the eldest being in the first year of secondary school. So, does anyone have any advice to give us about local schools? We understand, of course, it would be a "paid-for" education- which is perfectly fine given the reduction in taxes I can expect to pay. We have been given an idea of school fees for the American Academy but if anyone can give us an idea of fees for ISOP, Peyia TLC and St Piran's (we understand currently licensing issues with these institutes).