Uk then USA

Old Oct 24th 2017, 12:52 pm
Just Joined

Zoe Michael is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Uk then USA

Hi ,
So I'm new to all of this and would like some general advice about the best way to do things would be , I am British, my partner is from USA, we been seeing each other and talking everyday now for over 2 years. we really want to start a life together but are facing so many obstacles, we have paid for legal advice from different places and we just seem to be throwing money away, left right and centre and not getting any further forward.
My partner applied for a 6 month visitor visa and was refused, he was supposed to stay with me for my summer holidays off work and longer. We didn't foresee any problems with his application. long story short , he visited me for 9 days despite his refusal with a letter from my MP and was interrogated at airport by 6 officers for 3 hours and only given a months visa.
the thing is because I have 3 children ,(teenagers) I cant just up and leave and go to America and 2 of my children have liver conditions. We want to be together and our thoughts were if he initially came and stayed with me while my children are still younger in say 5-10 years time ,I would move back to America with him.
I have had a lot of emoitional trauma in the last year. not being able to be together has impacted also and a few weeks ago my face dropped and I thought id had a stroke, doctor said it was due to stress.
My earnings are not enough to sponsor him, they are £17100, although he has $30000 dollars in savings. I just don't see how we can do it. I have applied for other jobs on top of mine but fear I may burn out .
Is there another way we can apply without reachimg the £18600 criteria?