Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia > China/Hong Kong
Reload this Page >

Transferring pension to Hong Kong

Transferring pension to Hong Kong

Old Sep 3rd 2009, 10:17 am
Just Joined

knife-edge is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Transferring pension to Hong Kong

Hi, new to this site, and was wondering if anyone could help me to answer a few questions about pensions.

I recently left the UK, and am planning to spend quite some time out in Hong Kong. In essence I have emigrated.

I have a SIPP that I've been paying into in the UK for a few years now, and I am wondering if there is any way of transferring it over to a Hong Kong pension provider? Is this possible? Has anyone done anything similar? I have just started an MPF account in Hong Kong, and I dont like the idea of having small little bits of pension floating around. Can anyone see any obvious benefits or drawbacks to transferring my pension to Hong Kong (if it indeed is even possible).

Thanks in advance,
K-E
Old Sep 3rd 2009, 12:14 pm
BE Forum Addict

ex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond reputeex reg has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Transferring pension to Hong Kong

Can't help with the pension but I would say that if you intend returning to UK if you needed NHS treatment then be very careful what you tell people about emigrating.

Not sure if was on here but recently someone mentioned at a BBQ that they had emigrated. The person they were talking to worked at their local doctors surgery and the next thing that happened was that the guy who had emigrated was 'booted off' the doctors list.