Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia > China/Hong Kong
Reload this Page >

Questions on finding work in HK as a Brit

Questions on finding work in HK as a Brit

Old Jan 14th 2012, 3:38 pm
Just Joined

Britstylist is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Questions on finding work in HK as a Brit

Hi everyone,
My boyfriend has been asked to move to HK with his job, they are sponsoring him and paying for us to move. I work as a freelance fashion stylist in London and am self-employed. I am very keen to move with him but from doing some research it looks like I won't be able to obtain a visa to work. Is anyone able to advise me on obtaining a visa as a freelancer? Or if I go without a visa how easy it is to find work as a Brit? I speak English, French and Italian but not Chinese. I would very much appreciate any advice from anyone who has been in a similar situation or who works in the fashion industry in HK.
Many thanks
Natalie
Old Jan 16th 2012, 4:27 pm
Sue
BE Co-Founder

Sue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond reputeSue has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Questions on finding work in HK as a Brit

Hi Natalie,

Welcome to BE. I'm afraid I can't help with you query as I don't live in HK (although it's on my list of places I would like to visit) I live in the US. But I wanted to pop by and say hi and I hope you are enjoying being part of our community and finding your way around ok.

I'm sure some of the regulars who hang out in this forum will be along shortly to share some pointers. But in the meantime take some time to read through the other threads in the forum and get to know everyone.

Sue
Old Mar 10th 2012, 1:38 am
cbc
Forum Regular