Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Far East and Asia > China/Hong Kong
Reload this Page >

Chartered Accountant considering moving to HK

Chartered Accountant considering moving to HK

Old Oct 26th 2011, 10:38 pm
Just Joined

EdinburghScot is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Chartered Accountant considering moving to HK

Dear Forum

I appreciate that this post may be a little vague but I will provide all the information that I can in hope that you can provide some assistance. If you feel you need more information in order to help please just ask.

I am a 28 year old male working in Edinburgh, UK at the moment for a Big 4 accountancy firm. I have 6 years professional experience including 3 years in Audit and 3 years in Restructuring Services.

I am considering pursuing a move to Hong Kong and wish to understand the likelihood that I will be able to secure employment. I assume that my best hope of employment would be in a similar position with a Big 4 firm.

I could go through my current employer but I fear that this could be a very time consuming and frustrating process (this is the feedback I have received from others who have made international transfers) and the news may not be welcomed by my managers.

I do not speak Mandarin or Cantonese, in fact I only speak English.

I guess my questions are really:
1. How likely is it that I would find a Big 4 accountancy firm (or another similar employer) willing to employ me in HK? Are my skills and experience in demand in HK?
2. How difficult a process is it to obtain a working Visa and how long does it take? Would a prospective employer be prepared to support/undertake that process?
3. Would I be able to secure a position prior to moving out there?