Back to UK with a child

Old Jan 8th 2013, 6:28 am
Just Joined

4h0ng is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Back to UK with a child

Hi, a freshie here.

I'm looking for some clarification on a child being born outside of the UK.

I was born in the UK and have been working in HK for 7 years since i graduated. I got married in HK, my wife is a not from the UK, she is a local HK.

We are thinking about having a child soon and we both prefer the child to be brought up in the UK.

I believe the fact that i was born in the UK means the child would be a British Citizen even if he/she was born in HK. My question is:

Would the child be entitled to free education in the UK all the way up to the age of 18 even if the child was born outside of the UK but is a British Citizen?

I love HK and want to stay but with the way that the education system is in HK and the competitiveness in schools, i feel UK would be a more beneficial and comfortable environment for a kid growing up.

Thanks for any replies to my question in advance!
Old Jan 8th 2013, 8:42 am
Looking Around~

Vexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond reputeVexcore has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Back to UK with a child

Originally Posted by 4h0ng
Hi, a freshie here.

I was born in the UK and have been working in HK for 7 years since i graduated. I got married in HK, my wife is a not from the UK, she is a local HK.

We are thinking about having a child soon and we both prefer the child to be brought up in the UK.

I believe the fact that i was born in the UK means the child would be a British Citizen even if he/she was born in HK. My question is: