Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Rest of the World > Central, South America & Mexico
Reload this Page >

Mexico vs UK - wanting to marry and live together

Mexico vs UK - wanting to marry and live together

Old Mar 22nd 2015, 11:49 am
Just Joined

Grimborocks is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Mexico vs UK - wanting to marry and live together

Hey all.
Newbie here.

Can't seem to find answers in other forums so thought I'd start a new thread. Here is my situation...

I live in Scotland UK and my partner lives in Mexico. Tourist visas are great as they are valid for 6 months in both countries. But the travel expenses are proving to be too much and it hurts every time we say goodbye.
So the plan is to get married so we can live together in either country (we wish to make Mexico our permanent residence).

My question is this, what would be required for us to marry in Mexico and for me to live there, or would it be better for us to marry in the UK and then live in Mexico? I can't get the right information from either of the embassies...

All that matters is that we want to be together. I left my job to be with her and I fear this may affect any applications we make.

Not sure if this is enough information to get the answers I need but any help would be greatly appreciated!
Old Mar 22nd 2015, 5:59 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

SanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond reputeSanDiegogirl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Mexico vs UK - wanting to marry and live together

In either country there are legal requirements for getting married: