Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Canniversary
Reload this Page >

Throwing in the towel

Throwing in the towel

Old Aug 3rd 2012, 1:29 pm
Just Joined

Beholder is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Throwing in the towel

After a year in Canada I reached the point where I don't think I can take it anymore. I'm a phd graduate in technology, I've sent out hundreds of applications but to no avail, a lot didn't even bother to answer. It then came down to applying for part-time minimum wage jobs of course after obscuring the fact I have a masters and a phd. The cost of living was very pressuring especially with a family add to that I'm a diabetic and need insulin along with other supplies which are extremely expensive. Back in the UK I would get everything for free and as much as I wanted. Anyway, I secured a job with a significantly higher salary back home. However, I can't deny Canada is a wonderful place to live IF you have a good paying job.

Best of luck to everyone.
Old Aug 3rd 2012, 1:35 pm
ModerĪ±tor Emeritus

iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Throwing in the towel

Sorry to hear that. The downsides you have experienced will come as no surprise to regular readers of the forum

Congrats on finding a good job back home

Last edited by iaink; Aug 3rd 2012 at 2:16 pm.
Old Aug 3rd 2012, 2:08 pm
Just Joined

Thanks iaink, yes I guess many have had the same experience. I noticed during my time doing minimum wage that there were many others who were more or less in a similar situation but they came from war-torn countries and that was the best alternative for them.