British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Canada (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/)
-   -   will montreal force my kids to be schooled in french? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/canada-56/will-montreal-force-my-kids-schooled-french-903051/)

BritishManMontrealWife Sep 7th 2017 7:04 pm

will montreal force my kids to be schooled in french?

hello there.

I'm a newbie. Makes me sound young, which is a flattering thing :-)

i've heard lots of conflicting advice about what schools my kids will have to go to, and would really value any advice from people who might have been on similar predicement.

i'm british. my wife from montreal. we met in london 20 years ago.
5 years ago we moved to italy.
our kids were 5 and 7 then (now 10 and 12), so whilst english is their 1st language, and they speak french fluently as well, they actually have been schooled in italy / italian. so tri-lingual.

we move to montreal next year.

i've heard that since my wife is quebecian, my kids will have to go to a french school. this scares my kids, since they want to be schooled in english and in the long run, i'd rather they could write, learn in english, rather than have perfect grammatical french.

has anyone been in this situation ? will a school test them 1st to decide what grade to go into ? if they go to a private school, can i make my own decision?

we are very excited about our move. but my kids are rightfully nervous, about being in a school and doing homework in french, which whilst they speak it well, have never had to write it.

thanks in advance for any kind and considerate advice.

from an expat abroad who's buying thermals

Shard Sep 7th 2017 9:31 pm

Re: will montreal force my kids to be schooled in french?

Hi Newbie. Welcome. Can't your Quebecois wife ask one of her relatives or something?

DandNHill Sep 7th 2017 11:18 pm