Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:26 am   #1
Concierge
 
AmyDavid's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6,369
AmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Any ideas? The power is now back on. Should my well water pump just start automatically or do I have to wait for it to build pressure? Should I leave the tap open so the water can work its way up?

HELP! I am completely clueless!
__________________
For Document Checking Assistance - www.immigrationadministration.com
AmyDavid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:35 am   #2
never settled
 
S E A N's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 227
S E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to all
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyDavid View Post
Any ideas? The power is now back on. Should my well water pump just start automatically or do I have to wait for it to build pressure? Should I leave the tap open so the water can work its way up?

HELP! I am completely clueless!
Does it need priming
It would probably have to build pressure.
S E A N is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:36 am   #3
BE Forum Addict
 
chumley's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: My Utopia Nova Scotia!
Posts: 1,368
chumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond reputechumley has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

WE HAVE HAD A FEW POWER CUTS AND NEVER EVEN THOUGHT ABOUT THE WELL PUMP SO IT MUST HAVE BEEN COMING BACK ON AUTOMATICALLY
EXCUSE CAPS AMY PUTER HAVING A FIT THIS AM
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM! in NSCI 23/08 PNP to Halifax Immigration 7/10 AOR 9/10further info request 25th November PNP approval 3/12!PR to London 17/12/2008 CHC started processing 19/01/2009 Med requests 29/01 meds 20/02 LANDED APRIL 30TH
chumley is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:38 am   #4
never settled
 
S E A N's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 227
S E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to all
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumley View Post
WE HAVE HAD A FEW POWER CUTS AND NEVER EVEN THOUGHT ABOUT THE WELL PUMP SO IT MUST HAVE BEEN COMING BACK ON AUTOMATICALLY
EXCUSE CAPS AMY PUTER HAVING A FIT THIS AM
oh well
S E A N is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:39 am   #5
Forum Regular
 
Louisecooke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Posts: 266
Louisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

We have a switch in our basement that we have to move across sometimes if the pump isn't working, not sure if yours is the same though? I'm not very technical lol! It is a little red plastic sticky out thing

Bit windy last night wasn't it
Louisecooke is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:40 am   #6
Concierge
 
AmyDavid's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6,369
AmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S E A N View Post
Does it need priming
It would probably have to build pressure.
What does priming mean? Honestly I am about as much use with these mechanical things as a fart in a jar.
__________________
For Document Checking Assistance - www.immigrationadministration.com
AmyDavid is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:41 am   #7
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 147
Sockdogg has a brilliant futureSockdogg has a brilliant futureSockdogg has a brilliant futureSockdogg has a brilliant futureSockdogg has a brilliant futureSockdogg has a brilliant future
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

ours has a small grey box on the side with an L-shaped lever on it, you have to push it to Auto.
This will then reset the pump.

We only have to do ours if we lose power for long periods.
Hope this helps



Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyDavid View Post
Any ideas? The power is now back on. Should my well water pump just start automatically or do I have to wait for it to build pressure? Should I leave the tap open so the water can work its way up?

HELP! I am completely clueless!
__________________
SW May 06: AOR June 06
LMO sent 29/08/07 rec'd 06/09/07
Landed: 22/10/07 on 3yr WP at POE
Meds 25/06/08, PPR 18/08/08, PR 03/12/08
Sockdogg is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:44 am   #8
never settled
 
S E A N's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 227
S E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to all
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyDavid View Post
What does priming mean? Honestly I am about as much use with these mechanical things as a fart in a jar.

Hmm, it can mean different things...just essentially means initializing a machine (getting it ready to properly function). When it comes to water pumps usually filling the pump with water so it doesn't intake air when it's turned on.
S E A N is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:48 am   #9
Concierge
 
AmyDavid's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6,369
AmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louisecooke View Post
We have a switch in our basement that we have to move across sometimes if the pump isn't working, not sure if yours is the same though? I'm not very technical lol! It is a little red plastic sticky out thing

Bit windy last night wasn't it
Your a life saver! Mine looks like an old bent paperclip that will snap should you touch it...but touch it I did and WOOOMPH my pump is working again!

Thanks everyone, I can now have a coffee!!
__________________
For Document Checking Assistance - www.immigrationadministration.com
AmyDavid is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:54 am   #10
Forum Regular
 
Louisecooke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Posts: 266
Louisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Glad to help, I feel like a technical genius now
Louisecooke is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 11:57 am   #11
Concierge
 
AmyDavid's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6,369
AmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond reputeAmyDavid has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louisecooke View Post
Glad to help, I feel like a technical genius now
Today you may make a badge that says "Engineer" and wear it with pride!
__________________
For Document Checking Assistance - www.immigrationadministration.com
AmyDavid is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 12:04 pm   #12
never settled
 
S E A N's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 227
S E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to allS E A N is a name known to all
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louisecooke View Post
Glad to help, I feel like a technical genius now

Can you use your technical no-how to explain what this strange object is;

"It is a little red plastic sticky out thing"

S E A N is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 12:06 pm   #13
Forum Regular
 
Louisecooke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Posts: 266
Louisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond reputeLouisecooke has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

Thank you Amy!

Sean, that's a secret technical term, understood only by women as Amy has just demonstrated
Louisecooke is offline  
Old Feb 23rd 2009, 12:38 pm   #14
Pictou County Superstarâ„¢
 
Greenhill's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: On top of the Green hill, NS
Posts: 3,428
Greenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond reputeGreenhill has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Power Out - How do I restart my Well Pump?

It'll be a pressure switch that's tripped off.

The pressure switch is there to stop water flowing back down the well and damaging the pump, but mainly to detect when the tank needs filling (the pump doesn't run all the time, only when the pressure tank needs filling).

It'll probably look like this:


Just lift that lever (on the side) up a bit, watch the gauge, you should be able to see the pressure build back up, then release the lever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyDavid View Post
Any ideas? The power is now back on. Should my well water pump just start automatically or do I have to wait for it to build pressure? Should I leave the tap open so the water can work its way up?

HELP! I am completely clueless!
Greenhill is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Canada

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

All times are GMT. The time now is 6:14 am.


Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com