Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Montreal winters

Montreal winters

Old Aug 24th 2016, 9:38 pm
Just Joined

reddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond reputereddflamingo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Montreal winters

Hi

I am a British student thinking about applying to university in Montreal (McGill), and although it seems like on the whole it would be a good decision, I am concerned about the winters.

Even the comparatively mild southern English winter affects me to the point where I wonder if I have SAD. I do feel significantly gloomier and more lethargic during winter. It's not so much the cold which does it (so I hope I could learn to adapt to the temperature in Montreal) as the lack of light and the trees with no leaves. I am worried that moving to Montreal would not be a good idea for me because of this and I was wondering if anybody else who finds winter difficult has managed to survive in Montreal?

It is also made worse by the fact that the school year is from the beginning of September to the end of April, so most of that is winter, and I would probably be returning home for most if not all of the summer so I wouldn't even get to experience the best time of year in Montreal.

So I would really just like to hear the experiences of other people who hate winter or have (diagnosed or undiagnosed) SAD and get some input on whether moving to Montreal is a crazy idea for someone like me.

Thanks!
Old Aug 25th 2016, 1:51 am
BE user by choice

Location: A Briton, married to a Canadian, now in Fredericton.