Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Just moved to Ottawa - job hungry! But...

Just moved to Ottawa - job hungry! But...

Old May 17th 2017, 11:03 pm
Forum Regular

harryg7 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Just moved to Ottawa - job hungry! But...

Hey everyone,

Sorry this post will be irrelevant to nearly all of you, but if you never ask then you'll never know, eh? (Canadianism's kicking in already )

So I'm in tech, and live in a suburb of Ottawa called Kanata (regarded as the tech hub of Canada). I moved here in November, and recently got my work permit – so I have been applying for jobs (a good handful) for the last 3 weeks or so.

Job wise, I’m a Product Manager of 4 years in software development. I’m bursting with eagerness to dig my teeth into a job here and make my mark. However, I’ve not been having much luck with responses and so on – in the U.K. (lived in Reading) if I applied for 3 jobs I’d usually hear back from at least 2 within a week!

Is it just me or is it the norm to be slow off the mark with recruitment? Can anyone in Ottawa or in tech over give me any advice?

Also, if anyone could share any good recruitment or general contacts then that would be fabulous.

Thanks all in advance.

P.s. This forum is great, nice to see us Brits helping each other out
Old May 17th 2017, 11:28 pm
Peter Darwin

pdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond reputepdarwin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Just moved to Ottawa - job hungry! But...