IT jobs

Old Mar 29th 2016, 5:41 pm
Just Joined

Keeno_G is an unknown quantity at this point
Default IT jobs

Hi

New to the site. Considering moving to Canada with my wife and young daughter from the UK for a better life. I was just wondering if anyone could advise on the IT jobs market in Canada? I have over 10 years experience as an senior IT engineer having worked mainly in the financial sector in the UK. From what I have read it does not appear to be as big an area as IT job markets in other countries. Ideally I'd like to have a job lined up before moving.

Also can anyone recommend any cities to initially start looking at? We would want to visit before committing to anything

Thanks in advance
Greg
Old Mar 29th 2016, 8:11 pm
Forum Regular

jagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of lightjagz is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: IT jobs

I am in IT work and I live in GTA. GTA (Toronto area) might work well as it hosts the headquarters of many financial institutions and the major banks.

From my friend (from Vancouver) I also heard that the Vancouver area also has better jobs and majority of such jobs come from Startup. So in general, the IT work environment atmosphere is likely to differ from Toronto to Vancouver, perhaps the influence of silicon valley (due to its proximity).

Still a lot of interviews go face to face unlike US. I wouldn't be surprised if the employer ask you to fly over for an in person interview.

Generally, if you land in one region, it gets pretty difficult to move.

Good day..
Jay.
Old Mar 29th 2016, 8:53 pm
Just Joined

thanks for the info Jagz

I will look into Vancouver and Toronto for possible job opportunities

Cheers