Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

How do you decide to move to Canada?

How do you decide to move to Canada?

Old Oct 30th 2017, 2:29 pm
Forum Regular

amycakes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How do you decide to move to Canada?

Hi, my name is Amy, and I’m a long-time lurker of this forum, finally reaching out for some help!

My husband and I are considering re-locating to Toronto. We are both 32, I work in Education and my husband in Aviation. On the EE calculator, we get around 450 points (depending on our Education Assessments and IELTS outcomes we can’t nail down a score), so feel like we are right on the edge of being eligible with no guarantees. I accept that this is the eventual deciding factor! We have discussed selling our home in the UK, then rent in Toronto, before committing to buy a property with the proceeds of our house in the UK.

My husband has a close friend in Toronto who has said he can get him a job (it’s not LIMA eligible). We visited his workplace in September, and really liked it there. There is very limited work for him in this country and the pay is low compared to the good salary and excellent working conditions on offer in Toronto. We would purely be moving for this reason, with the hope that a better salary could get us a better quality of life. If we didn’t make the move, my husband’s career would suffer dramatically. However, neither of us are too keen on living in a big city as we both live in the countryside at the moment, but there is a possibility of re-location to other bases in a few years’ time (Ottawa or Thunder Bay).