Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Help a newbie re police transfer to Ontario region

Help a newbie re police transfer to Ontario region

Old Apr 1st 2017, 8:47 pm
Just Joined

xmamox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Help a newbie re police transfer to Ontario region

Hi, I am a British Police Officer with 17 years service and am in talks with an Ontario force regarding a potential move.
I have seen some news that prohibits transfer of police pension to Canada and want to know if this is true?

Also, how easy is it to join the Canadian pension as a expat? I think it would be the OMERS pension scheme, that is certainly the one this service uses. Would I be allowed to join that as a Brit?

Interested in any unseen pitfalls that may come my way if I take the plunge!
Real newcomer to thinking of moving so apologies if this is real simple but I am struggling to get any real up to date information on the internet...most relates to 2008/2009 when Brit cops went in bulk.

Thanks in advance for help.
Old Apr 1st 2017, 11:46 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Former Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help a newbie re police transfer to Ontario region

Here is the bad news to become a Police Officer in Canada or any Police Force within Canada you must usually be a Canadian citizen or hold Permanent Residence status in Canada.