Reload this Page >

First steps of moving

First steps of moving

Old Mar 24th 2015, 10:40 pm
Just Joined

Jess.Exeter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default First steps of moving

Hi,

I'm Jess I live in Exeter (Devon) UK. I'm 25. I have a Business Bachelors degree and have worked as a legal secretary, currently working in the nhs as secretary to the surgery management team.

I have made no steps at moving apart from seeing property prices, health care, salaries, crime rates etc.

I'd like to hear from Canadian citizens and fellow UK expats on their advice/experience on moving. For example: how much money should I have in the bank, how easy is it to get a job interview, quality of life, reception upon arrival etc. and essentially...is it worth investing in!?

I know Canada is HUGE compared to the UK but I'd also like a bit of advice on where would suit me to live. Ideally I'd want snowy winters and sunny summers (hot if possible but we Brits are used to disappointing summers) a large town but not a city or a tiny village, I don't speak French but have booked classes to learn. Basically something similar to Devon - a very friendly and close-knit county of the UK. - I'm also partial to gawping at a beautiful sight for hours so forests, mountains, beaches - I'm not fussy.

To sum it up: what qualifications as admin staff, how much to have in the bank, reception on arrival, job applications and general ideas for location.

Sorry to be so fussy. But also thank you in advance for those who reply. (Sorry if you've read this a thousand times before - it's the first for me)

Kind regards
Jess (and Monty the dog)
Old Mar 24th 2015, 10:54 pm
Dive Bar Drunk