Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

ex husbands permission to move (temp) with child

ex husbands permission to move (temp) with child

Old Jul 20th 2014, 1:28 am
Just Joined

ascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to beholdascouser is a splendid one to behold
Default ex husbands permission to move (temp) with child

Hello - newbie here, been lurking for a while reading all the useful information.

Rec'd my student permit and partners work permit for the next two years this week. Plan to fly out end of Aug for me to start college Sept. Will temporarily live in Hamilton till we sus out best location for rental / schools etc.

Getting a little anxious about loads of stuff - perhaps someone will give me their experience / knowledge. I have one biggish question.

When we step off the plan in Toronto I believe we will be taken of to be questioned by an immigration officer. My partner and I are not married we have one 'joint' child 5yrs and there's my eldest 13yrs who's father is no longer in the picture and hasn't been for the last 8yrs. We were married when she was born and he is on her birth cert. We are no longer in touch and to re-establish a connection to ask his 'permission' to leave for two years would ignite hostility and a big bag of hassle. She has my surname (maiden name) on her passport.
We do not have a custody / residence agreement. She was not part of the divorce settlement. Nothing is in writing or agreed by a judge.

Biggish question - will her parentage be a question by the immigration officer? Will I have to prove anything - supply birth certificate?
To clarify our surnames on passports -