Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

UK pension taxation in UK and Canada (UFPLS)

UK pension taxation in UK and Canada (UFPLS)

Old Jul 1st 2020, 11:14 pm
Just Joined

AndrewE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK pension taxation in UK and Canada (UFPLS)

Hi, I'm been very impressed with the knowledge about UK / Canadian pensions on this site and was hoping you could help me with a question.

I'm a Canadian tax resident with a reasonable UK 'defined contribution' pension pot built up while I was living and working in the UK. I'm coming up to retirement and am now getting my pension-ducks in a row, so I contacted Aegon to see how I could take my pension (which they hold for me under a Group Pension Plan arrangement). Aegon have a 'TargetPlan' website that lets you move money between funds and setup monthly flexi-drawdown payments. Unfortunately though, as I'm resident in Canada I can't use this flexi-drawdown mode and instead have to fill in a form twice a year to trigger a UFPLS (Uncrystallized Funds Pension Lump Sum) transfer. I fill in a PDF, request the amount I need (say GBP15k every 6 months) and they deposit it into my UK bank account (tax free provided I get my P85 in) from where I transfer it to my Canadian bank account.
This is not ideal but it's workable. I haven't taken the 25% tax free from this or any other UK pension so essentially I would just be pulling funds from the pot using their UFPLS process. My question are
a) Will HMRC charge tax on these withdrawals or will a P85 lodged with them set a tax code of 0% in the UK?
b) Will CRA view these UFPLS payments as 'pension income' and so allow me to split them with my wife and us to get the 2k tax credit? Alternatively will CRA simply regard them as lump sum payments which deserve no special tax treatment and tax me on the whole amount?