7 weeks in - update

Old Oct 26th 2011, 9:08 pm
Nyz
Forum Regular

Nyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond reputeNyz has a reputation beyond repute
Default 7 weeks in - update

Hi all,

Just wanted to update how it's been going for us since we moved. I think the last time I posted it was the middle of the night and I wasn't particularly happy!

Well, we are now both working, hubby was very lucky he got a job 3 days after arriving (he's in construction now). It took me nearer 4 weeks to find a job (I'm an accountant), I'm now commuting daily to Moorgate, the met line isn't too bad. I used to work part time in the US so it's hard getting used to getting home almost 2 hours later but I am hoping that once I'm more settled I'm going to reduce my hours. BUT I do get 24 days vacation a year!!

I can honestly say we are both very happy here, it's definitely home, I love our newspapers, TV, shops, etc. I do miss the sunshine and certain conveniences of LA. BUT I don't miss paying almost $1,000 a month in health insurance.

Our children are very happy and being thoroughly spoiled by my family, they are on half term at the moment.

Yes, I do think times are hard, and when I used to come back on holiday I think that the country had changed but now I live here I feel as I never left and nothing has changed.

All in all, it's been a good move for us.

We are just waiting for stuff to arrive now, we used Schumachers, so I will update on that too!

Good luck to all of you about to make the move.

It's good to be home.
Old Oct 27th 2011, 2:27 am
BE Enthusiast