From the cops

Old Dec 2nd 2001, 4:08 am
Just Joined

spud is an unknown quantity at this point

If I may, a person is a "murderer" if they have an intention to kill another person and they carry that act out. Speeding drivers who kill people are NEVER charged or convicted of murder without that intention either being first present or subsequently proved by a court. It is a critical element of the act of murder. Drivers who kill are more likely being criminally negligent or careless.

I am not defending this bloke, in fact as a Highway Patrol officer, I spend my time battling his ilk. He seems to defend speeding, (like many drivers), without realising that his actions have the very real potential to result in the deaths of others. Having routinely witnessed the deaths of my fellow Australians Adrian, I invite you to accompany me to comfort the parents of the victim, the next time I present a death message. Speeding Kills.

BTW, you are lucky you were not caught in my state, it would have cosy you a lot more.
Old Dec 2nd 2001, 5:04 am
Jeff Perlman

In the future, it may be less confusing for readers of the group if you were to reply
to the original message. That way people know you are referring to a discussion about
"Speeding in Queensland."

Also, I think your vocation puts you in a rather biased place in terms of commenting
on speeding. Drinking also kills, but as with anything else, it's a matter of degree
and situation. Without knowing the specifics of Adrian's situation, none of us really
knows whether he was driving carelessly or not.

By the way, I did decide to pay off my ticket so that the next time I'm in Oz I don't
have to worry about that pesky arrest warrant!

Jeff

spud
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

Old Dec 2nd 2001, 8:01 am
Daniel Bowen

>
    >
    >
    >

IIRC, Adrian was booked for driving at 95kmh in a 60 zone. I think most people, even