British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Brisbane offer (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/brisbane-offer-911434/)

Stuart16 Apr 8th 2018 10:56 am

Brisbane offer

Hi All,

I wonder if anyone can offer some advice on a potential job offer in Brisbane. A little background on our family, My wife, 8 month old daughter and i are quite far into the visa application, positive skills assessment, English test etc EOI lodged in October for pur PR 189 visa with 65 points.

I have a job offer in Brisbane pending my visa in the constuction industry ( I'm a carpenter to trade and qualified construction manager). The offer has a Salary of $85-90k + super, company car + other benefits. Can anyone advise if this is a good salary to live well in the Brisbane area? It works out just over what I'm currently earning in the UK.

As a family we don't over indulge, at the same time we have a good lifestyle and dont want for much at the moment. Just worried about putting ourselves in any financial difficulty, but knowing I'll have work to go straight into is a bit of a god send as i know others have long waits to find employment.

My wife is a medical secretary with over 15 years experience in the UK and Ireland. She will be looking to gind a part time position, 3-4 days a week to provide additiinal income.

A bit long winded, appologies. Appreciate any advice and thoughts from your experience.

Thanks in advance.

Alfresco Apr 12th 2018 10:07 pm

Re: Brisbane offer

Originally Posted by Stuart16 (Post 12477841)
Hi All,

I wonder if anyone can offer some advice on a potential job offer in Brisbane. A little background on our family, My wife, 8 month old daughter and i are quite far into the visa application, positive skills assessment, English test etc EOI lodged in October for pur PR 189 visa with 65 points.