Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Australia

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old Apr 12th 2010, 1:35 pm   #1
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: lincoln
Posts: 65
bethnphoebe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Which appliances etcto take?

Hi,
Can anyone tell me whether it is worth shipping appliances. I don't want to ship my Washing machine and fridge etc to australia if they won't work when i get there. Also do flat screen TV's work in australia?
Thanks
bethnphoebe is offline  
Old Apr 12th 2010, 1:53 pm   #2
Forum Regular
 
Coryate's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: Hertfordshire (for now)
Posts: 52
Coryate has a spectacular aura aboutCoryate has a spectacular aura aboutCoryate has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

The appliances will work, but you would probably need to change the plugs, the only real issue I can think of would be to get spares if they go wrong.

Shipping will be expensive.
Coryate is offline  
Old Apr 12th 2010, 2:00 pm   #3
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: lincoln
Posts: 65
bethnphoebe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Hi Coryate,
I will be have 1/2 container anyway for my furniture etc so i hoped it would be more cost effective to take appliances rather than buy them there as i will have shipping costs anyway but wasn't sure whether my washing machine could be plumbed in ok.
bethnphoebe is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2010, 1:51 am   #4
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 257
ronnie98 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bethnphoebe View Post
Hi Coryate,
I will be have 1/2 container anyway for my furniture etc so i hoped it would be more cost effective to take appliances rather than buy them there as i will have shipping costs anyway but wasn't sure whether my washing machine could be plumbed in ok.
bring everything and put a new range cooker in for me, there $7000 here and mine at home was £1200
ronnie98 is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2010, 2:46 am   #5
ABCDiamond
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bethnphoebe View Post
Hi,
Can anyone tell me whether it is worth shipping appliances. I don't want to ship my Washing machine and fridge etc to australia if they won't work when i get there. Also do flat screen TV's work in australia?
Thanks
Check your fridge rating, to see if suitable for the area of Australia you are heading to.

Two common ratings are:
N = 16°C to 32°C (Temperate)
T = 18°C to 43°C (Tropical)

My N rating fridge died pretty quickly after keeping it in the garage where the temps exceeded 32°C.

I will now only get T rated. Not sure if UK fridges will have a similar rating ?

Washing machines will work OK, but make sure you put in the travel bolts, and remove them again before using
 
Old Jun 14th 2010, 3:15 am   #6
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 65
KateandPhil is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bethnphoebe View Post
Hi,
Can anyone tell me whether it is worth shipping appliances. I don't want to ship my Washing machine and fridge etc to australia if they won't work when i get there. Also do flat screen TV's work in australia?
Thanks
We brought everything washing macine, dishwasher, printers, kettle, iron etc they all work absolutely fine. We have changed the plugs on most things which was easy enough. We didnt bring the fridge/freezer we were told it wouldn't be powerful enough for the heat but really wished we had, even if it was for a beer fridge and extra freezer!! We bought a second hand fridge when we got here that was in great condition and a bargain at $200. I would say with the exchange rate being poor at the moment bring everything then when you get here earning dollars look to replacing them then if you need to.

Garage sales are good here too picked up at brand new tumble dryer for $100 wish I had brought that too!
KateandPhil is offline  
Old Jun 14th 2010, 4:17 am   #7
Ping pong PoM
 
alipally's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,537
alipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Bring EVERYTHING! It's all really expensive here, for white goods especially with the exchange rate. If you don't have a tumble dryer, GET ONE and bring that too, We bought a Whirlpool one here and frankly it's PANTS! Dishwashers a slightly different here (no salt dispenser) so I didn't bother. If you have oil filled electric radiators shove those in too. (I'm bloody freezing at the moment!) I also bought my Magimix, dualit toaster and magimix kettle they all work fab here too. (now I've finally changed the plugs on them!)and are half the price in the UK!
I have a side by side Whirpool American style Fridge Freezer it's been great since we got it and it's still going strong now (7 years old)

TBH the only thing that is cheaper here at the moment is Apple Mac stuff,
__________________
Alipally
alipally is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 2:29 am   #8
jayr 
Karma Comedian
 
jayr's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Brisvegas
Posts: 3,506
jayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond reputejayr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Bring everything.

Trust me.
jayr is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 3:17 am   #9
paddyo Male
Social Grenade Thrower
 
paddyo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: South Coast, NSW
Posts: 3,625
paddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bethnphoebe View Post
Hi,
Can anyone tell me whether it is worth shipping appliances. I don't want to ship my Washing machine and fridge etc to australia if they won't work when i get there. Also do flat screen TV's work in australia?
Thanks
Everything bar TV will work fine, even then you can still use it via a set top box and Foxtel or use it as a second TV, which is what we have done. I have changed the plugs on all my electrical appliances having had advise from a fellow BE chap on here who is a qualified electrician.
paddyo is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 4:17 am   #10
Ping pong PoM
 
alipally's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,537
alipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond reputealipally has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

You say that the TV won't work, but actually if you have a digital ready TV it works just fine! So bring that too!
__________________
Alipally
alipally is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 5:52 am   #11
ABCDiamond
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

My analogue TV, when set for German reception, worked OK here also
 
Old Jun 15th 2010, 6:24 am   #12
paddyo Male
Social Grenade Thrower
 
paddyo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: South Coast, NSW
Posts: 3,625
paddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alipally View Post
You say that the TV won't work, but actually if you have a digital ready TV it works just fine! So bring that too!
ok, well mine is, but didn;t!! Having said that, Digital Ready in 2001 (when I bought it) and working with Digital Aerial may not eqate to the same Digital Ready now. It may even just need someone who knows what they are doing to fiddle with a few knobs to adjust it and make it work.
paddyo is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 6:24 am   #13
paddyo Male
Social Grenade Thrower
 
paddyo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: South Coast, NSW
Posts: 3,625
paddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ABCDiamond View Post
My analogue TV, when set for German reception, worked OK here also
Really??? Hmmmm....er...ahem....how do you do that then?
paddyo is offline  
Old Jun 15th 2010, 10:23 am   #14
ABCDiamond
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paddyo View Post
Really??? Hmmmm....er...ahem....how do you do that then?
Went into settings, and selected Germany. It was a Philips TV. It didn't have Australia as an option.

The three country settings, for Analogue, are:
  • Australia - System B: 625 Lines 7MHz Channel +5.5MHz Sound
  • Germany - System B: 625 Lines 7MHz Channel (or 8MHz on G) +5.5MHz Sound
  • UK - System I: 625 Lines 8MHz Channel +6.0MHz Sound
 
Old Jun 15th 2010, 2:16 pm   #15
Just Joined
 
Bex and Si's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Bex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really niceBex and Si is just really nice
Default Re: Which appliances etcto take?

I'm moving out next month and have half a container to ship over. We sold all our whites with our house! Hmmm beginning to think that was a mistake
Would you suggest that we buy a washer/dryer/fridge etc to bring along with us?
Thanks
Bex and Si is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   British Expats / Living & Moving Abroad / Australia


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 6:04 am.


Powered by vBulletin: ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1999-2010 BritishExpats.com