Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

6 mths on the gold coast and still not sure

6 mths on the gold coast and still not sure

Old Mar 26th 2008, 9:17 am
Forum Regular

lisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nicelisas is just really nice
Default 6 mths on the gold coast and still not sure

We have been here on the GC for the last 6 months. It has been hard to find work ( I am a teacher) and my Fiancee has started a travel agency up based from home which is a franchise which started up in the U.K. So the only work we have at the moment is part time, as my OH is building the business up he is working part time at Austar and i am trying to get some part time work in shops etc. We are having to dip into our savings to go towards the rent and have been looking at cheaper properties but there are a lot of people to every viewing that is listed at $400 a week or less.
We do like it here and if we had our own place feel we could make a go of it ( we can't afford to buy right now) and there is always that nagging feeling that life in the u.k. is always there and we both could go back to our original jobs and fit straight back in. We have no kids just 2 cats that came with us.

I am trying to find full time work but we are worried that another 6 mths will pass and we will then decide to go home and be in a much worse position financially as more savings will have gone, if not all of them.

We worked long hours in the U.K. 50 -60 hrs a week in each job. we just wanted to get away from that and to have some nice weather to boot but we wonder if life was really that bad, we didn't hate the U.K. yeah some things got us down, the usual (weather, lifestyle etc) but it's the same everywhere.