Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

UK to US - CPA (courses and sponsorship)

UK to US - CPA (courses and sponsorship)

Old May 12th 2008, 11:44 am
Just Joined

jk22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK to US - CPA (courses and sponsorship)

I'm from the UK and am considering doing an extension course at UCLA in California to gain a certificate in accounting. They state that this would fulfill the requirements to sit the CPA exam, as I also have an undergrad degree in Economics from the UK which should fulfill the the other requirement. I do not have any actual experience in accountancy. I would also be eligible to go on OPT for a year following completion of the course which would go some way toward fulfilling the work experience requirement. I was just wondering if anyone knew anymore about taking this path towards working as a CPA in California. I must also add that I would be looking to be sponsored for an H1-B visa following OPT and was wondering if anyone knew whether this all sounds feasible?
Old May 14th 2008, 1:19 am
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK to US - CPA (courses and sponsorship)

H1-B is a difficult visa because there is a quota and it's well over-subscribed. Also, the pathway to a green card is difficult.

I would recommend the following route:

1. Get your U.K. degree, if you can do a Masters it won't hurt;

2. Train as a Chartered Accountant, preferably in a Big Four firm.