Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

HELP NEEDED! USA ACA or something else??

HELP NEEDED! USA ACA or something else??

Old Apr 19th 2013, 2:05 pm
Just Joined

lampez is an unknown quantity at this point
Question HELP NEEDED! USA ACA or something else??

Hi. nearly 2 years after I graduated from The University of York and so far failing to get a job on a ACA/CTA scheme and I'm stuck for options of where to go next. My main goal is to live in California. I did a study abroad year at UCSD as part of my degree and fell in love! Luckily my partner has the same goal, but I'm really struggling to think of how best to make the dream a reality.

My degree is in Economics and I'm interested in Tax and Accountancy, but at this point I would be happy to pursue any career that would get me to America. It's more important to me to be living over there in a decently paid job that I can challenge myself in than it is to work in any specific sector.

So really my question is: should I start to self fund the ACA with the hope that I then get a job in this area and get to America, or is there a better idea that I've not thought of??

Any advice is appreciated because I'm really stumped!

ps. my partner is a British citizen and not American (unfortunately) and works in recruitment (which we are hoping is pretty transferable)
Old Apr 22nd 2013, 12:10 am
Forum Regular

JOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really niceJOE2010 is just really nice
Default Re: HELP NEEDED! USA ACA or something else??

If I were you I would do the CA, get some decent experience then relocate.
Old Apr 25th 2013, 10:04 pm
BE Enthusiast