Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

Fast track to CPA Australia..

Fast track to CPA Australia..

Old Aug 10th 2009, 8:55 am
Just Joined

sasa110 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fast track to CPA Australia..

Hi all,

I'm 12 papers down in ACCA (2 more to go, hopefully should be done by Dec 09 or Jun 10) and an Indian. My previous experience was accepted by ACCA as practical experience and they'd let me would apply for ACCA membership soon after I've passed all the papers.

I am looking at a time-saving plan that would fast-track me to CPA Australia, since I'm planning to immigrate there. The fountain of knowledge JAJ has mentioned the two routes to the CPA in another thread:
Plan A)either study it independently, or
Plan B)get the CIMA and go for the MRA.

I have looked at the exam centers for the CPA -- there are a few centers in Asia, namely UAE, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia etc.. I scanned their website but did not get some specific info I was looking for, and I was hoping if someone could help me out here.

Once an ACCA, can i get direct admission into CPA and get to do the 6 final papers, or do I still have to do the 2 bridging exam certificates via a university?

If the former is yes, I'd be really interested to join the CPA course from here in India, and hop down to Thailand or somewhere from India and hopefully knock down a few papers, so that by the time I am in oz (target 2010-11), I'll be CPA or near CPA. (I am willing to spend on trips to foreign exam centers (i've relatives in 1-2 of them) since a CPA would certainly help to kickstart a career sooner in Oz)

Alternately, the other plausible plan (plan B) seems to enroll for CIMA where I'll get significant exemptions due to my ACCA studies, take final CIMA exams in the Indian city I live, hopefully finish it before/after landing in Oz, and take the MRA by 2012 (when the agreement will possibly end).