Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

Almost ICAA feeling homesick

Almost ICAA feeling homesick

Old Jan 2nd 2011, 11:44 am
Just Joined

lameduck is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Almost ICAA feeling homesick

Hello

Around about this time of year, I start to feel rather homesick for London.

Quick background, I've been in Australia since 2003. I finished off high-school here, and also did an university degree majoring in accounting. I'm in my third year working as an accountant and am current working towards finishing my ICAA qualification (I believe ICAA is equivalent to ICAEW).

The logistics of moving back to London is not a problem for me, as I'm still a British Citizen and accommodation is readily available.

My concern rather is how much success might I have in securing a job in the UK?
I've worked in Australian tax mostly, and am familiar with both the personal and company tax system here in Oz. However, I am quite clueless as to the workings of UK tax.

At the moment, any move is rather speculative as I will only consider moving once I get my qualification. But I'm doing my research now and would appreciate any advice or feedback from anyone who might be able to provide input as to how sought after, or how redundant my Australian tax knowledge will be in the UK.

Many thanks.
Old Jan 2nd 2011, 3:55 pm
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Almost ICAA feeling homesick

Once you become ICAA you should have a fairly straightforward pathway to become an English (or Scottish, or Irish) CA, if you wish.